Suddenly

Summer 2012 Part 2 048a.jpg

Things are starting to get real! It’s hard to believe that in just over a month I’ll be moving down to the main headquarters of AIF at the Southwest Indian Ministries Center in Peoria, AZ.

Earlier today I got to do something that not many future missionaries get to do – visit the field before heading out on official assignments. I spent the morning with the field director, camp directors, and several volunteers – discussing the coming year and the adventures that it’s sure to bring. I won’t go into too many details now (where’s the fun in that?) but know that there will be plenty of work; plenty of ministry opportunities; plenty of time to share life with new people on a new journey. There’s even the possibility of extending my time through May 2017 for a specific project (stay tuned for more info on that if God chooses to move in that direction!)

And the closer the time comes, the more excited I get.

I’ve learned over the years that when we are in God’s will, everything tends to fall into place – I’ve seen it countless times, in my own family and in others. And I don’t expect that this instance is going to be any different.

Let me give you an example. When the recession hit while I was in high-school, my dad, like so many others, lost his job to a round of layoffs. This led to a period of uncertainty in which nothing seemed to work out; nothing lined up with what we thought was the trajectory of our lives. We were frustrated; forced into trusting far from our comfort zones. And there was no end in sight.

Then, suddenly, we were moving halfway across the country. The house sold impossibly fast and suddenly, we were there – just in time for Christmas – in a new house, a new school, a new region.

And it was right. And it just happened.

The summer before my senior year of high-school, I stumbled upon a website for a university I’d never heard of. One with the elusive major I wanted, other fascinating and exciting opportunities, and the exact type of learning atmosphere I was looking for. From the website alone I decided that it was my number one choice of schools. The same day, I submitted my application and was accepted a few months later. I made my decision before I even visited.

And it was perfect. It was right. I didn’t even graduate with the same major that had led me to the school. But it was the right place. And I never would have found it otherwise.

And it just happened.

But… not really. It didn’t just “happen.” Nothing just “happens.”

See, I don’t believe in coincidences. At least, not coincidences of that scale. God doesn’t make mistakes – and He places people where He wants them to be, when He wants them to be there. And none of it happens by accident.

If I’ve learned anything through instances like these it’s that when something big does “happen,” everything falls into place so suddenly that you can’t always trace down the factors of causation. And the only way to describe it is that it just “happened.”

Funny how that works.

Suddenly, everything works out. Suddenly, it all fits together. Suddenly, the last piece of the puzzle falls into place and everything makes sense. Suddenly, God comes through.

Suddenly – and always.

So as I wait for that last bit of funding to fall into place, I’m trusting that God will come through, suddenly, as He usually does.

But here’s the thing: God could snap His fingers and have everything just “happen.”… But He chooses to use us instead. It’s not that He needs to use us. He doesn’t need us for anything. He chooses to allow us to participate in His plan; to use us for a greater purpose that anything we could ever do on our own. To help that “suddenly” to just “happen” for other people.

And I think that’s pretty cool.

What’s He calling you to do? Is He calling you to join in the ministry at AIF by partnering with me in ministry? If so, what are you waiting for?

 

One thought on “Suddenly

Leave a Reply

